The 80/20 Rule Changed My Life

The 80/20 Rule Changed My Life

“If I look back on my creative entrepreneur journey, I don’t have an endless amount of big wins to talk about. Somedays I even wonder why I do what I do. But every so often there’s a big “payday” of some sort and I’m reminded it’s not about creating something perfect every time. It’s just about consistently creating. The '‘Lucky” ones are the consistent ones.”

If you find yourself either not hitting the goals you want or obsessively seeking for perfection out of everything you create, listen up.

It’s time you shift your focus to the 80/20 rule.

I first started implementing the 80/20 rule when I joined Parker on the Full Time Filmmaker team.

And I have since implemented this method of looking at my work in a few different ways.

Here are 3 ways you can use the 80/20 Rule in your life:

  1. 80% Of Your Output Won’t Be Popular

Some people get so hung up on that one video not taking off like it “should have” and they let their frustration get the best of them by taking an extra long break from creating anything.

If that’s how you look at life, you need a new perspective.

This post from Karolis Piliponis was an eye opener:

Justin Bieber: 285 songs, 85 hits (30%)

Taylor Swift: 243 songs, 59 hits (24%)

Drake: 133 songs, 38 hits (28%)

73% of their output is NOT popular.

If Drake and T Swizzle don’t hit it big every time, why should you?

It’s the consistent output that counts, not just the songs they’re known for.

Everything else will take care of itself when you’ve mastered the art of consistent output.

  1. Get It 80% There, Don’t Stress On The Final 20%

Going back to my early Full Time Filmmaker days, Parker implemented the 80/20 rule when it came to our final video edit.

With as many videos as we were putting out, we learned quickly that seeking perfection out of every video was way too demanding and unrealistic.

So instead of spending weeks on compiling the “perfect” footage and final edit, we focused on getting each video to 80% and not stressing about the final 20%.

This took a lot of stress off my shoulders but it also didn’t lower my creative standards in making the best video in the time I had.

This allowed our team to push out a lot of content during that time and have the occasional “big win” that kept us going.

  1. It’s Ok To Lower Your Daily Standards On Occasion

I just got back from a cruise with the family, and while I was gone, I made it a priority to focus more energy on being present with them than on my work.

Did I still consistently work on my daily goals?

Yep.

But I didn’t obsess over doing everything all the time because that would take me away from creating unique memories with my kids while on this trip.

You have to be self-aware enough to realize it’s ok to let go on occasion and shift your focus to what matters most.

Do your best with being consistent with your goals, but don’t be so stuck on perfectionism and having such a high standard that it’s discouraging and taking you away from something else more important.

Learn to know when going full speed is ok and when hitting on the brakes is ok too.

There’s more to life than yourself and your work.

Making time for the people in your life is what makes the good life.

I hope this helps!

Keep crushing it đŸ‘ŠđŸŒ

-Landon

What did you think about this email?

Login or Subscribe to participate in polls.