Stop Being Casual–Be Intentional

Stop Being Casual–Be Intentional

“Some days I feel like I’m just ‘there’ you know? Like I’m just going through the motions. And then I’ll have those days where I get in bed at the end of the day and feel like I totally crushed all my goals. Ya… I wish I had more of those days.”

I feel ya there.

I don’t have these amazingly productive days everyday either.

No one does.

Here are the real questions you should be asking yourself at the end of everyday:

  1. Was I intentional about my day?

Intentional living is what separates those who live a life they are extremely proud of and those who have regrets because of how casually they lived their life.

As Jordan Peterson says, “What’s interesting about being alive is that you are all in. No matter what you do, you are all in. This is going to kill you. So I think you might as well play the most magnificent game you can while you’re waiting. Because, do you have anything better to do?”

If that doesn’t wake you up I don’t know what will.

The great thing about life is YOU can decide what intentional living looks like for YOU.

I think we’re so heavily influenced by ‘hustle culture’ that we don’t take the time to think for ourselves.

Ask yourself–How can I be true to myself while also pushing myself to grow?

Don’t ask what so and so would answer.

No, this is about YOU.

What kind of life would you be truly satisfied with?

There’s no point in saying you want to make a million dollars a year if your actions don’t align with that goal.

It’s a waste of time to say you want that beach body but don’t spend any time working out.

So take a good look in the mirror and decide for yourself what you actually want.

Then be intentional about working towards that everyday.

  1. Did I focus on the right things?

I think we sometimes forget about the goals we’ve set for ourselves and we end up casually reacting to whatever the day throws at us.

And by the end of the day, we feel a little defeated.

I’ll tell you right now, if I wake up and casually get to work with no real plan, my day will have far more interruptions, unnecessary Instagram scrolling, and I’ll feel the need to respond to every email and text the second it comes in.

And by the end of the day I’ll look back and realize I didn’t do much of anything that actually grew my business.

And between mindless busy work that can suck up all our time and constant distractions on our phone, we wonder why we aren’t where we want to be.

I’m willing to bet if you did the simple task of writing out what you wanted to accomplish for the day and stuck with it for even 1 month, not missing a day, you would be ahead of 99% of the population.

That’s how distracted I think most people are.

Now imagine if you did that the majority of your life?

There’s no question of where you would be at.

Remember, everyone’s definition of intentional living is different.

You just need to decide for yourself what that means for you.

Live with no regrets!

You got this👊🏻

-Landon

PS - Henbu’s video was a big inspiration when writing this week’s newsletter. You can check out his full YouTube video HERE.

Landon Bytheway has been hanging out with DJI at the NAB Show this past week and while there, had time to make a video with Full Time Filmmaker showcasing 10 worth while filmmaking products that you might want to know about if you weren’t able to make it to the show.

You can check out the full YouTube video HERE.

CREATOR SPOTLIGHT

From Volunteer Photographer To Full Time Filmmaker

The story of Marcus Robinson

My fascination with filmmaking began twelve years ago within the hallowed halls of my church. There, I gravitated towards the broadcast cameras, finding immense satisfaction in capturing moments and stories. My passion soon transcended mere operation, leading me to volunteer as a photographer. It was during this time that a pivotal moment arose. Witnessing the impactful community outreach programs spearheaded by the church, I felt compelled to document these endeavors. My aim was to shatter the misconception that churches were simply static structures, and instead, to showcase their vibrant engagement with the outside world. This project ignited a spark inside of me to weave narratives through the power of video.

Years later, fueled by countless hours spent consuming YouTube tutorials, particularly those by Parker Walbeck, I embarked on my journey as a part-time creative filmmaker. However, my initial efforts lacked focus, leaving me scattered and yearning for a more structured approach. The Full Time Filmmaker course emerged as the answer to my prayers. It provided a much-needed framework, a roadmap to guide my filmmaking aspirations. But perhaps even more significant was the invaluable community I discovered. This collective of passionate filmmakers fostered a sense of camaraderie, offering support and fostering continuous learning.

This odyssey, from my early days with church cameras to the supportive network established through Full Time Filmmaker, has shaped me into the filmmaker I am today. Here in Houston, Texas, I'm proud to be celebrating my ninth year as a full-time freelance/production company owner. The road wasn't always smooth, and for anyone aspiring to take the leap, I offer this: plan meticulously, build a safety net with emergency funds, prioritize solving client problems over chasing trends, and most importantly, never surrender to the challenges. The filmmaking journey is a marathon, not a sprint, but with dedication and the right resources, you too can turn your passion into a thriving career.

You can check out Marcus’s YouTube Channel HERE and his Instagram HERE.

What did you think about this email?

Login or Subscribe to participate in polls.