Life Isn't About Balance–It's About Momentum

“I don’t understand... How do you make time for everything? Isn’t being a happy creative about having balance in all areas of your life? I feel like if I focus on one thing for slightly too long, I’m throwing off the balance everywhere else. What am I doing wrong?”

Life Isn’t About Balance–It’s About Momentum

“I don’t understand… How do you make time for everything? Isn’t being a happy creative about having balance in all areas of your life? I feel like if I focus on one thing for slightly too long, I’m throwing off the balance everywhere else. What am I doing wrong?”

I learned early on that the idea of work/life balance is a complete fallacy.

Did you know the whole concept of “work/life balance” was implemented by a manufacturer in the 1800s who advocated for a balanced workday of 8 hours labor, 8 hours recreation, and 8 hours rest?

Does that sound like a typical day in your life?

If it does, give me a call because I’d love to know your secret.

The reality is, that’s not how life works. (at least not anymore)

And as more and more people leave their 9-5 jobs and venture out to start their own business, the less realistic that standard has become.

I don’t think it’s so much the perfect “balance” of everything in your life, as it is keeping the momentum going in each area of your life.

Think back to when you first learned to ride a bike.

You don’t learn how to “balance” on your bike in order to successfully ride it.

You learn how to start and keep that momentum going, so balance is something you don’t even have to think about.

It’s the same thing with life.

Thinking you can equally “balance” each area of your life first, so you can continue to “move forward” in life, is a complete lie.

Your focus should be on moving forward first, so you can keep that momentum going in each area of your life.

Otherwise you’ll be endlessly trying to plan how you’re going to give everything that’s important to you equal amounts of your time, which is unattainable.

Focus on one area of your life at a time, to get that momentum started if it isn’t going already.

And little by little, one by one, as you make the rounds of bouncing between all of your responsibilities and the different areas of your life, you’ll see that momentum will pick up speed.

Your business will grow.

Your health will become a priority.

The relationships in your life will be thriving.

The love you have for yourself will be better than it’s ever been.

And you’ll suddenly be able to provide the help to others that they need from you.

Doesn’t that sound much more exciting?

Attainable even?

I’m not saying it’s easy.

Nothing amazing is easy.

It will still take work, discipline, and focus, but it’s 100% attainable.

And to be clear– do I have seasons of my life where I’m completely focused on one or two areas of my life?

Absolutely.

That’s just how life works sometimes.

But at the end of the day, I gauge how I’m doing at life in general by looking at the momentum I have in each area that is important to me.

I recently booked a trip to Oregon just to get away and clear my head from everything that I have going on.

If you looked at my schedule, you’d probably say that was an unproductive use of my time.

But the amount of clarity and renewed energy I got out of that trip made it all worth it….

and we filmed some incredible content at the same time.

I made a cinematic short film all shot on the iPhone, if you want to check it out below👇🏼

One of my favorite things about traveling now is not always having to worry about carrying my whole camera setup to film a video.

I just whip out my iPhone that’s in my pocket and I’m good to go.

I recently released my Pocket Filmmaker course that goes into everything you need to know when it comes to filming with your iPhone.

If that sounds interesting, you can check it out HERE.

And if you’re a Full Time Filmmaker student, you already have it 😉

Alright guys, that’s all I got for ya.

Remember, get that momentum going and keep it going.

You got everything you need to live the life you want to live.

You just need to put in the work.

Let’s do this 👊🏼

-Landon

What did you think about this email?

Login or Subscribe to participate in polls.