How I Turned My Hobby Into A Lucrative Career

How I Turned My Hobby Into A Lucrative Career

ā€œI just want to find fulfillment in my work while also having the lifestyle that Iā€™ve always dreamed of, but I sometimes feel like I have to choose between one or the other. How can I consistently make both happen?ā€

This question is an all too common one.

It wasnā€™t too long ago where I was asking myself the same thing.

I was anything but a happy creative.

I was stressed out of my mind while doing work that didnā€™t fulfill me and I didnā€™t know where to go or what to do.

Only through some very deep, conscious mental pivots did I find myself in a happier, healthier place.

Itā€™s also how I managed to turn what was once just a hobby into an extremely lucrative career as a creative entrepreneur.

Here are my 3 tips to making this happen for you:

  1. ā€œNobody cares about you more than yourself. Everyone is so hyper focused on their own sh*t. So donā€™t let other people dictate what you ultimately do with your life.ā€

This is a hard one to swallow.

I worried what other people thought about me for a long time.

I was so focused on how others perceived me, I found I was living my life for them and not myself.

Once I decided to let all that go and live for me, I became a new person.

While we each need the support of each other, we donā€™t need the added stress of how others are judging us.

Choose to push those negative thoughts (made up or not) out of your mind.

You could have all the support in the world from your family and friends, but ultimately it all comes down to YOU.

We all have problems weā€™re dealing with and we all have things we want to achieve.

Once you realize itā€™s all on you to make your dreams happen, it brings a new level of clarity and ownership to the equation.

Itā€™s almost freeing, actually.

Yet it can feel intimidating at the same time.

I found my belief in myself grew exponentially as I intentionally took steps in the direction that was right for me.

And ultimately led me to finding more fulfillment in my work.

This brings me to my second pointā€¦

  1. ā€œItā€™s difficult to do something consistently when you donā€™t know where itā€™s going or have a clear view of how it contributes to accomplishing your bigger goals.ā€

Have you taken the time to actually map out your vision and where you want to go?

If I were to guess, Iā€™d say 99% of people are aimlessly living a life with no clear direction.

They get up, go to work, have dinner, watch a couple hours of Netflix and call it a day.

And repeat that over and over again until they realize they lived far below what they were capable of.

If you havenā€™t found your north store to help point you in the right direction, take some time to do that now.

Sit down with a pen and paper in a quiet space where you wonā€™t be interrupted and really think about what YOU want.

Not what your mom or dad wants, or what society wants, but what you want.

What is your heart telling you?

Preferably, do this when youā€™re not working so you can focus on YOU and not the other things on your to-do list.

Which brings me to my last pointā€¦

  1. ā€œCreatives need time to do ā€œnothingā€. Itā€™s actually in those moments that Iā€™ve discovered the things that have made the biggest difference in my business. When itā€™s time to work, you get to work. But the most effective work comes when youā€™ve first given yourself a chance to think through what needs to happen.ā€

(If you follow me on Threads, you might have seen that I posted a variation of this just the other day.)

When was the last time you intentionally disconnected from work?

Iā€™ve found that instead of spending time during work hours trying to resolve a problem for my business, I tend to get the answers Iā€™m looking for when Iā€™m doing nothing.

I think the greatest entrepreneurs realize a lot of the game of business is just thinking through problems.

Some of the most innovative people on the planet give their inspiration to simply going on a walk.

But Iā€™ve gotten solutions to heavy questions on my mind even while playing with my kids, or while on a drive.

So if you donā€™t have a hobby that allows you to take a mental break from work, then go pick one and make time for it.

One thing my mom teaches her art students is the importance of stepping away from their painting and allowing their mind to take a break.

Then once they come back to it, they have a fresh eye and perspective they didnā€™t have before.

So instead of exerting all your effort on solving the problem, take a break and let the solution to the problem come to you.

Give these tips a try and let me know how they work for you.

Donā€™t forget, Happy Creative Coaching officially launches on May 15th!

Enrollment will be open for just five days and then it will close for an indefinite amount of time.

So if you want to be a part of that live event, register here.
(More than 2000 people have already registered)

See you there šŸ‘ŠšŸ¼

-Landon

What did you think about this email?

Login or Subscribe to participate in polls.

You are receiving this email because you signed up for a free training, download, or digital course from Full Time Filmmaker. If you would like to unsubscribe, please click the button below.